I just got home from shopping with my Grand Daughter who insisted that I go with her to shop. After standing in line for 2 1/2 hours to get in I no longer have to wonder how long it takes a human being to revert to an uncivilized being when in a crowd. Within 2 minutes after entering the store I found myself in some ladies way, at least she apparently thought so. In her rush to get to some jacket she stomped on my foot, getting her heal of her shoe caught in my shoe lace, then looked me square in the face, slid her foot off of mine, and proceeded to stand on my shoe lace so I couldn’t move away. A young man behind me then pushed me into the woman standing on my shoe lace, who instantly looked at me and said “I don’t think there is any need for people to push.” I replied very politely, “I am sorry, this crowd is crazy with their pushing.” She hatefully responded to me by saying, “Well, you are the one who pushed me lady.” Before I could respond I was pushed into her again, but this time her elbow poked me in the eye. She instantly turned to me and said, ” I don’t know why you are accosting me.” Well, that was it, as ashamed as I am to admit it, I looked at her and said, “Well, lady if you had not stomped my foot, untiring my shoe and then decided to stand on my shoe string I wouldn’t be getting pushed into you. Believe me you are the last person in the store I would prefer not to be standing near.” About that time some old woman ran her cart right into my back and I found myself actually knocked into the woman standing on my shoe string. I had to grab her shoulder to keep my whole body from plowing into her. She looked down at the floor at that point, moved her foot off my shoe string and actually said, “You know, people should not run around with their shoes untied.” I could finally get some distance from her but found myself unable to shop. All I could do throughout the store was notice how rude people were treating other people. I remember now why I don’t shop on Thanksgiving night or Black Friday. It seems that no matter how the human race has evolved over the centuries, the mind still has a need for disjunction, and it takes very little for us to abandon civility.

Comments

  1. And you just outlined why I refuse to go out on that day. Is it any wonder that crowd psychology is an entire branch of social psychology in itself?

Leave a Reply

